Tenth club for Mid North Coast Premier League crickert

TEN sides – an increase of one from 2017/18 – will contest the Mid North Coast Premier League cricket competition next summer.

Camden Haven/Bonny Hills will be the newcomers.

Mr Cross said Camden Haven applied last season but withdrew before the inaugural competition started, citing a lack of depth.

“But they assure us they’ll be right this season,’’ Mr Cross said.

“So we’re prepared to give them a go.’’

Taree West, Wingham and United will again be the Manning clubs involved.

The new season will be underway from Saturday October 13 – a week later then originally planned as the Regional Big Bash round will be played at Port Macquarie on October 6 and 7.

Mr Cross said two weeks of T20 fixtures have also been added to the draw.

“We’ll play the games on Saturday December 15, the week before the Christmas break and Saturday January 12, the week we resume,’’ he said.

“We’ll play in southern and northern conferences and the two leading teams will meet in the final on Australia Day.’’

United, Wingham, Taree West, Wauchope and Camden Haven will makeup the southern conference with the three Port clubs and the two from Kempsey in the north.