Tom the top rower

Zac Calvin and Tom Steedman were among the award winners at Manning Rowing Club's award night.
Zac Calvin and Tom Steedman were among the award winners at Manning Rowing Club's award night.

TOM Steedman was named Manning Rowing Club's rower of the year at the recent award night.

He set an example to the other rowers with his commitment to training throughout the season where five sessions a week were the norm.

After mastering the technique of sculling he competed in numerous regattas including the NSW championships where he made the semi-final of the under 17 mens single scull. His positive attitude to the sport was reflected in his willingness to assist with any task around the clubhouse and at regattas.

Ashley Harry started rowing as part of the 2013 learn to row program in September. Ashley quickly mastered the various parts of the stroke cycle and was able to be intergrated into different combinations of doubles and quads. The Taree Summer Regatta was her first taste of victory in the women's D-grade quad scull with Megan Saxby, Brielle Wiersma and Kate Rankin. They completed the course with a six second margin ahead of second place. Ashley competed in regattas at Newcastle, Berry Park and the CDRA championships with more success and as a result has been awarded novice rower of the year.

Junior rower of the year went to Zac Calvin.

Making step up the under 19s, Zac displayed a high level of dedication to the sport with his regular attendance at training sessions throughout the season.

The extra workload required at training was embraced and rewarded with wins combining with Tom Steedman.

Calvin's versatility enabled him to score a convincing win with Tal Wiersma at CDRA championships in the men's D grade double scull.

Michelle Arnold picked up the club achiever of the year.

She stepped out from the shadow of older sister Kate in second half of the season when moving from the bow seat to assume a different role in the crew in the stroke seat.

Michelle has been helpful off the water always, willing to assist in the crews get on and off the water at regattas as well as assisting the club host the busy Taree Summer Regatta and the CDRA championships.

Life memberships were awarded to John Corbett, Roy Halliday, John McCallum and Philip Walters for dedicated service to the rowing club and he night concluded with John Cross giving an informative talk on the 1978 flood damage - the generosity of the local community and task undertaken to rebuild the clubhouse.