Taree riders to head to Kurri Kurri for Australian Junior Dirt Track Championships

The championships were held at the Old Bar Roadside Circuit last year.
The championships were held at the Old Bar Roadside Circuit last year.

Taree riders Kye Andrews, Hayden Nelson, Will Bisley and Mitch Bisley will be in the mix for championship honours at this weekend’s Australian Junior Dirt Track Championships at Kurri Kurri.

In the 13 to 16 years age bracket at the championship meeting last year at the Old Bar Roadside Circuit, Kye scored a hat-trick of class wins on his home track.

He is expected to face his toughest opposition from 13 year old rider Ryan Smith as well as clubmate Harrison Ryan and Queensland rider Cyshan Weale.

Riders will travel from as far afield as Adelaide, Melbourne and Brisbane to chase championship honours in the two-day title showdown.

The riders on display this weekend should not be looked upon just as ‘tomorrow’s stars’, even though this is the discipline of motorcycle sport that helped develop the careers of future world champions Casey Stoner and speedway duo Chris Holder and Jason Doyle as well as current Moto GP contender Jack Miller.

Riders aged between seven and 16 will chase championship honours and many are already very accomplished riders with impressive records of title victories to their credit.

There is a strong contingent from Queensland who will fancy their chances throughout the age divisions.

One of these riders is Harrison Voight who is just back from the US where he contested the four-day American Amateur Grand National event.

Voight was beaten by only one rider in that event, Tom Drane from Forbes and the clashes between that duo are expected to be one of the highlights of racing this weekend.

From south of the border, Archie McDonald, Remmie Fyffe and Zane Kinna will all bring impressive credentials to the championship meeting.