End of year bowls results

Old Bar Beach Women's Bowling Club

The mixed bowls presentation day was a success with the following bowlers from the women's club receiving the following trophies and rewards:

Fours Championships- winners Ellen Orriss, Robin Bell, Margaret Bryant and Clare Horrocks and runners up Carol Burrows, Bev Simmons, Irene Boys and Muriel Yarnold.

Triples Championships -winners Chris Downey, Joan Day and Carmen Greber and runners up Ellen Orriss, Margaret Bryant and Jane Carson.

Pairs Championships - winners Ellen Orriss and Muriel Yarnold and runners up Jan Meadows and Shirley Baillie.

Minor singles- winner Sue Cini and runner up Maureen Fawcett.

Major singles- winner Clare Horrocks and runner up Margaret Bryant.

Bowler of the year was Clare Horrocks.

The Christmas break day was a enjoyable fun day with everyone being a winner.

Bowls season for 2018 will commence on Tuesday, January 9.

 A merry Christmas and a happy new year to all our bowling friends in the Manning.

Bonita Brines

Old Bar Bowls Club

Friday Mixed Triples winners were M Bekkers, C Bekkers & Lopez + 9 M Fawcett, S Lathwell, & G Gallagher + 5

Fours Game: : A Campbell, Sue Lathwell, T McSweeney & G Gilmour + 14

Winners draw, Team Gallagher. Losers draw, Team Baker.

Saturday Mens Pairs winners were J Madigan & K Causevic + 15. B Clarke and L Early v P Linsdell and R Standing Even! B Baker and D O’Brien + 4.

Triples game: J White, B Leggatt & T Hinton + 22. Winning draw Team Baker and O’Brien. Losing draw C Hughes & G Gallagher.

The annual presentation day was held on Sunday. The main awards of the year went too: Suzanne Cini Ladies Major Champion; Terry Smith Men’s Major Champion; Claire Horrocks, Ladies bowler of the year.

Monday Mens Pairs. Winners were: P Linsdell & L Early + 6. J White & M Ladmore + 14. B Clarke & H Coleman + 13. R Standring & T Smith + 15

B Baker & S Lathwell + 10

Triples game: R Bernard, M Pendelj & P Grogan + 11. Winners draw, Team Coleman. Losing rink, Team Leggatt.

Taree Leagues Men’s Bowls

The Classic Triples on Monday was an excellent day, and apart from the winners was a very close run competition.

The scoring system allocates 20 points for the winning team and 1 point for each winning end. In the case of a tie places are determined on the for and against scores.

In first place was the team of Peter Rumbel, Rod Adamson and Dave Richardson on 84 points.

Second was Norm Copeland, Terry Lockley and Greg Campbell on 76.

Third was Bob London, Peter Woolley and Bill Brett on 65 points, and fourth were Ted Gersbach, Ron Whatson and Mark Curtis on 64 points.

Visiting bowlers are very welcome to take part in this tournament on every second Monday of the month. 

Taree Railway Womens Bowls

Social Bowls

M. Storum, (s) V. Paff, M. Borham, S. McLeod def M. Storum, P. Thompson, C. Forbes, J. Ditton.

I. Lomax, (s) K. Erby, C. Smith, J. Reekie (draw) I. Lomax, M. McManus, F. Wallace, L. Brown.

A. Merrell, J. Hodgson, E. Toohey, O. Lambert, def A. Merrell, J. Whatson, J. Dedman, D. Cummins.

The Railway Lady Bowlers, would like to wish each and every one a Merry Christmas and a safe and healthy new year. Bowls resumes Monday, January 15.

Taree West Men's Bowls

A great day was had by all in last weekend’s Evermore Christmas Mixed Fours tournament.

Given the amount of laughter and frivolity around the greens it seems the main prerequisite to entering the tournament is a good sense of humour which is a nice foundation to work from.

Big Errol Ruprecht is in a purple patch of form and teamed up with wife Lois, Leonie Gilford and Peter Shroder to add yet another winners title to his long list of credits this year.

Runners up were the pair of old foxes Jimmy Cherritt and Phil Lindfield with their lady partners in crime Mary Adamson and Janet Unicomb. Phil doubled up and won a ham in the raffle so will not likely need to visit Coles for meat this Christmas.

Wednesday night Twilight again saw a wide range of scores.

Mick Brooks, Peter Hall and Flash Hinten were unstoppable with a +44 margin and with only two weeks left in the competition have thrown down the gauntlet to all other teams. Frank Martin, Terry Bruton and Greg Sadler also hit their collective straps with a big +19 victory while Bob Worth, Butch Barber and Craig Glover were not far behind with a healthy +16.

The Barnard family connection of Steve, myself and old dog Ronny again overcame a slow start to come away with a respectable +14 win. In the battle of the State Champs Mal Drury and his team of Tom Piper and Norm hockey stick Taylor had a hard fought +9 win over Kev cheeky Buckley, Rob Austin and Errol Ruprecht while Wazza Merchant, Matty Tang and Terry Osborne had to work hard to defeat Heppo, Browny and Greg Mayo by +3.

Teams wishing to enter the Zone Triples please note entries close on January 2 and entries for the Zone Fours close on January 16 so get your teams in ASAP.