Farewell to Year 12 at Chatham High 2017

There wasn’t a dry eye in the Chatham High School hall on Thursday, September 21 as Year 12 students were farewelled with an assembly.

The assembly was hosted by 2017 school captains Izabella Stuart and Ben Williams as well as 2018 captains Teagan Phillips and Stanley Tan.

Following an address by principal Daryl Irvine, special awards were presented.

Ben Williams and Shane Morcome then gave a moving tribute to classmate Nathanial Slater.

Representatives of the SRC spoke before outgoing school captains Izabella Stuart and Ben Williams delivered an address on behalf of Year 12.

Brodi Woolnough, Tara Plant and Amy Trengrove reminisced about the time students had together and what the future will hold after school.

Year 12 stage deputy Merv Presland spoke about the students using high school as the “foundation for their lives.”

The congregation then laughed and cried as they watched a slideshow of school photos from Year 7 to Year 12.

The students then exited the hall and rang the school bell at the conclusion of the assembly.