Mid North Coast footballers head to State championships

MID North Coast footballers will test themselves at the rescheduled Telstra State SAP Championships for Boys this weekend.

More than 220 of the most talented young, male footballers in Northern NSW will have the chance to come together again at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility.

Earlier this year the Telstra State SAP Championships were scheduled in Coffs Harbour, however, heavy rainfall leading up to and during the Championships forced Northern NSW Football (NNSWF) to cancel and reschedule.

The Telstra SAP State Championships for Boys is contested by the member zones supporting  NNSWF’s strategic direction through the implementation of Licensed Skill Acquisition Programs (SA’s). Squads representing the NNSWF Newcastle SAP and a composite NNSWF Select SAP will also participate in the 11 and 12 Years divisions.

The composition of the championships has been amended to acknowledge the vital contribution of licensed SAPs to the development of players within NNSWF’s Talented Player Pathway. Skill development is clearly the primary focus of the Skill Acquisition Phase, however, players also have to develop their understanding of the game in order to apply these skills in an appropriate context.

Teams across Northern NSW will include, Macquarie Football, Hunter Valley Football, Northern Inland Football, Football Mid North Coast, North Coast Football, NNSW Newcastle SAP, and NNSW Select SAP.

The first matches start at 5pm on Friday, August 18, with both 11 and 12 Years boys matches played simultaneously on two fields – field 1 hosting the 12 years and field 2 the 11s

Football Mid North Coast squads are: 11s Liam Moore (GK), Campbell Page, Jarrod Hargreaves, Harley Clarke, Cooper West, Sam Blain, Roy Stevenson, Ryan Hancock, Mitchell Woodward, Louka Alexopoulos, Ben Lynch, Liam Mercer.

Coach Tony Judge, manager David Lee, assistant coach Grant Yarnold, trainer Larry Budgen.

Under 12s: Nathanial Deas (GK), Huon Lickley, Hamish Wilson, Ben Maclean, Noah Thick, Oscar Plentinger, Harry Holbrook, Sam Logan-Pye, Mason Swain, Luke Hancock, Tommy Elder, Schafer Aiken, Hunter Croft.

Coach Andrew Lickley, manager Michael Milkolajczyk, assistant coach Brett Swain, trainer Larry Budgen.