Three target Taree women’s golf crown

Defending champion Christine George.

Defending champion Christine George.

SALLY Geary will look to win her first Taree women’s golf club championship for the since 2004 when the third and final round is played on Wednesday.

Geary, on 168, leads Judy McKenzie and defending champion Christine George, both on 172. Geary dominated the event from 1995 to 2004 when she won the title on four occasions.

She will be looking to break the Christine George-Cindy Googh stranglehold on the championship from the last four years.

The B-grade title will be tightly contested with Topsy Yeark on 209 having a one shot advantage over Margaret Pryor while Lorraine Hodgson is also in contention on 211.

Defending champion June Sorby with 227 leads Pat Kimberley on 229 in C-grade. They should fight out the event.

Players will hit off in a seeded draw on Wednesday from 8.30.