Sam Masters to debut at Troy Bayliss Classic

EXCITING young Australian speedway star Sam Masters is confirmed to contest the Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic presented by Shannon’s Insurance on Saturday January 21 at Taree Motorcycle Club’s Old Bar Roadside Circuit. 

Sam Masters is looking forward to making his debut at the Troy Bayliss Classic this year.

Sam Masters is looking forward to making his debut at the Troy Bayliss Classic this year.

The 25-year-old from Newcastle, who was part of the 2016 championship winning Region Varde Danish Metal speedway team and Wolverhampton Speedway Great Britain premiership team, will line-up in the All-Star class.

The 2011 premier league riders champion said he was looking forward to racing bar-to-bar against American flat track racers Jared Mees, Henry Wiles, Sammy Halbert as well the likes of three-time Superbike World Champion Troy Bayliss and three-time speedway world champion Jason Crump.

“It is a privilege to get the opportunity to race at the Troy Bayliss Classic," Masters said.

“I grew up racing dirt track but it has been quite a while since I have raced it, especially on an oil track, so I am looking forward to getting out there and having a lot of fun."

Speedway legend Jason Crump has contested every Troy Bayliss Classic to date and said he was looking forward to racing against a stellar line-up of challengers.

“This is the fifth year of the Troy Bayliss Classic and I get as much enjoyment now as I did at the first one,” Crump said.

“It is really cool to be able to catch up with friends and competitors from the past and race with them again.”

Three-time Australian Superbike champion Shawn Giles joins Crump in the Legends field and will be aiming for his first podium at the iconic event.

The Victorian racer  said he feels better prepared for this year's event. 

“I am really looking forward to mixing it up with the Legends at the Troy Bayliss Classic," GIles said.

"Hopefully this year I will be in contention for the podium."  

The competitive Legends field features an incredible line-up of racers including Damon Buckmaster, Vaughn Style, Kevin Horton, Phil Lovett, Anthony Gunter, Rick Rice, Wayne Clark, Chris Watson and Stephen Gall.

Gall will be one to watch, the motocross icon boasts five Australian motocross championships, four Mr Motocross titles, three Australian Dirt Track Championships and is a two-time winner of the Finke Desert race.

To purchase tickets to the January 21 event visit